Sunday, May 20, 2018

On Holy Ground Blog Tour

On Holy Ground by Louise Cole





Hi, and welcome to my stop on the tour!! Thanks for stopping in today! You will find info on the book, the author, Louise Cole, the Blog Tour, and of course, My Thoughts (cause I love to share!!). Oh, and make sure you check out other stops on the tour for  lots more fun!


Summary:
Saving the world was just the start

In The Devil's Poetry, Callie gambled with her life to stop a war. And she won. But now the game has changed. A Reader who understands the Book's magic is either a savior or a curse - what she can't be is free. When Callie stranded in the US, hunted and penniless, she desperately needs allies. But whose agenda can she trust? She must re-evaluate everything she knows, and find a way to escape, or die trying. Don't miss the riveting sequel to The Devil's Poetry.



Book Information



Title: On Holy Ground (The Devil’s Poetry #2)
Author: Louise Cole
Release Date: 14th April 2018
Genre: YA Thriller
Publisher: Valkyrie Books
Format: Ebook & Paperback

Author Information




Louise Cole has spent her life reading and writing. And very occasionally gardening. Sometimes she reads as she gardens. She can be seen walking her dogs around North Yorkshire - she's the one with a couple of cocker spaniels and a Kindle. She read English at Oxford - read being the operative word - and hasn't stopped reading since.

In her day-job she is an award-winning journalist, a former business magazine editor and director of a media agency. She writes about business but mainly the business of moving things around: transport, logistics, trucks, ships, and people.

Her fiction includes short stories, young adult thrillers, and other stuff which is still cooking.

Her YA and kids’ fiction is represented by Greenhouse Literary Agency and she is also published on Amazon as one of the Marisa Hayworth triumvirate.


Tour Schedule


Monday 7th May

Tuesday 8th May

Wednesday 9th May

Thursday 10th May

Friday 11th May

Saturday 12th May

Sunday 13th May


Monday 14th May

Tuesday 15th May

Thursday 17th May

Friday 18th May

Saturday 19th May

Sunday 20th May
Becca’s Book Affair


My Thought:

The Plot: Holy Intensity! I really enjoyed The Devil's Poetry and I was a little nervous going into the sequel, cause you know, sequels suck. But On Holy Ground took us to a whole new level of.....everything. More mystery and intrique and a better understanding of our Cadevari bad guys.  The story moved along very quickly, with twists and turns and bumps in the path that had my heart pounding.

The Characters: Callie is once again an amazing lead role. Putting myself in her position, I would have fallen apart. Miles is one of those characters that I was never sure if Callie could trust, but he was still a great character. I will let you come to your own conclusion on whether Miles is a good guy or not.  Amber really comes into  play this book as the kick ass heroine, a rock solid friend for our girl to lean on.  All of our characters, whether friend or foe, or even unknown, where very well writen and I enjoyed them all.

Was It Worth Reading?: Definitely! As far as sequels go, On Holy Ground is one of the best! I really enjoyed the cat and mouse game Callie played with the Order. I totally recommend both books and give On Holy Ground 5 out of 5 crossbows.


Monday, February 26, 2018

The Devil's Poetry Blog Tour


The Devil’s Poetry by Louise Cole


Summary:
Questions are dangerous but answers can be deadly.

Callie’s world will be lost to war – unless she can unlock the magic of an ancient manuscript. She and her friends will be sent to the front line. Many of them won’t come back. When a secret order tells her she can bring peace by reading from a book, it seems an easy solution - too easy. Callie soon finds herself hunted, trapped between desperate allies and diabolical enemies. The Order is every bit as ruthless as the paranormal Cadaveri.

Callie can only trust two people – her best friend and her ex-marine bodyguard. And they are on different sides. She must decide: how far will she go to stop a war?
Dare she read this book? What’s the price - and who pays it?

Commended in the Yeovil Prize 2016, this is an action-packed blend of adventure, fantasy and love story.

Book Information

Title: The Devil’s Poetry
Author: Louise Cole
Release Date: 13th June 2017
Genre: YA Thriller
Publisher: Kindle Press
Format: Ebook


Author Information


Louise Cole has spent her life reading and writing. And very occasionally gardening. Sometimes she reads as she gardens. She can be seen walking her dogs around North Yorkshire - she's the one with a couple of cocker spaniels and a Kindle. She read English at Oxford - read being the operative word - and hasn't stopped reading since.

In her day-job she is an award-winning journalist, a former business magazine editor and director of a media agency. She writes about business but mainly the business of moving things around: transport, logistics, trucks, ships, and people.

Her fiction includes short stories, young adult thrillers, and other stuff which is still cooking.

Her YA and kids’ fiction is represented by Greenhouse Literary Agency and she is also published on Amazon as one of the Marisa Hayworth triumvirate.
Tour Schedule



Monday 19th February

Tuesday 20th February

Wednesday 21st February

Thursday 22nd February

Friday 23rd February

Saturday 24th February

Sunday 25th February

The Cover: I really liked the cover for The Devil's Poetry. Between the cover and the title, I was all over this one. Behind a girl, whom I am guessing is our protagonist, light is seen after the woods. I am thinking this might be metaphorical for the hope through the darkness. But I could be imagining things. Either way, the cover is awesome.
The Plot: The story line of The Devil's Poetry was very unique. I have never read anything quite like it. I really enjoyed all the twists and turns, the adventure and the mystery. There was even the touch of romance. I could not put this one down, reading every spare moment of my day.
The Characters: I really liked our protagonist, Callie. I could identify with her totally. Even back in school, I read as much as I could, prefering other worlds and lives to my own. Jace was larger than life, in a good way; the typical hero who starts out just wanting to do his job and then finding so much more. Ella was a cold hearted bitch and the Cadaveri are wonderful villains, in that you almost feel sorry for them. 
Was It Worth Reading? Oh yes! It was a wonderful adventure and escape from the boringness of everyday life. I can't wait for Callie's return in On Holy Ground, but until then I highly recommend The Devil's Poetry to readers of YA Fantasy and give it 4 out of 5 crossbows.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Unconvicted Blog Tour




Hi, and welcome to my stop on the tour!! Thanks for stopping in today! You will find info on the book, the author, Olly Jarvis, a giveaway, and of course, My Thoughts (cause I love to share!!). Oh, and make sure you check out other stops on the tour for author interviews, guest posts, and lots more fun!



Title: Unconvicted

Author Name: Olly Jarvis

Previous Books (if applicable): Cut Throat Defence

Genre: Legal Thriller, Thriller

Release Date: 29th January 2018

Publisher: Canelo

Cover Image:
Book Blurb: In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career
Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.
When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done…
The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practicing criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.


Links to Book:
Author Bio:
Olly Jarvis is a writer and criminal defence barrister, originally from London but now working in Manchester. Drawing on his experiences, he writes both fiction and non-fiction with a particular understanding of the pressures and excitement of life in the courtroom. He wrote the highly acclaimed Radio 4 drama Judgement, and wrote and presented the BBC documentary Mum Knows Best. He is also the author of Death by Dangerous. Olly has two children and lives in Cheshire.

Author Photo:  
Author Social Media Links
Twitter: @OllyJarviso

My Thoughts:

The Cover: Unconvicted has a very dark cover.  A man runs from a well lit building into the dark night. Definitely not a cover that would have screamed, "You have to read me!!" But I don't always choose my reads based on cover alone.

The Plot: Unconvicted had an amazing story. Although I was alittle afraid at first that I would not get into it, I was hooked before I even realized. The story moves alone at a good speed, with enough details to draw you in. Just when you thought the story was done, something even more interesting or intense would happen. I read enjoyed the court room drama and piecing together the clues.

The Characters: All of the characters were very well written. I loved our main characters, Jack and Lara. I found that very quickly into the story, you could feel empathy for Jack. I really liked that he didn't just accept everything for what it appeared to be.Jack's father was very cute and I thought the love and care he showed for his dad was do endearing.

Was it Worth Reading: Yes, very much so! I couldn't read it fast enough! I really enjoyed Unconvicted, with all of it's unexpected twists and turns, and hope to read more of Jack Kowalski. I highly recommend Unconvicted to readers of suspense and drama, and give it 4 out of 5 crossbows.

Friday, September 29, 2017

BLACK BIRD OF THE GALLOWS BY MEG KASSEL BLOG TOUR


Hi, and welcome to my stop on the tour!! Thanks for stopping in today! You will find info on the book, the author, Meg Kassel, a giveaway, and of course, My Thoughts (cause I love to share!!). Oh, and make sure you check out other stops on the tour for author interviews, guest posts, and lots more fun!

Tour Date:
September 11-29, 2017

Link to Goodreads: